First Week: Training in Minnesota

Welcome to week one of my blog, Research in Motion. If you don’t know me, my name is Bond, and I just started a new job that will have me traveling all over the country, working with all sorts of great nonprofits on questions, challenges, and opportunities related to prospect development. If you don’t know what that is, you can read more about what I’ll be doing by clicking here. Or see more about what prospect development is by clicking here. (disclaimer: that last link is to my boss, Josh Birkholz’s blog. I did a quick online search to just find a definition of prospect development and didn’t find anything else that really looked helpful; drop me a note if you’ve got other links to share).

My plan with this blog is to post my observations related to prospect research and/or development, or interesting travel stories since I’ll be going all over the place. Sometimes these two topics will intersect; sometimes I’ll post about one or the other.

As with the first week of any new job, I learned a lot. I met a ton of great people, and had a chance to catch up with some old friends. I went to North Park University, a school that is physically located in Chicago but might as well be in Minnesota since so many of the students grew up there. I digress. Anyway, the most interesting thing I learned this week was from a training I sat in on today. My firm does a training the first Friday of every month (creatively called First Fridays) for all new employees. Today’s topic was on effective presentations. We watched some examples of great presenters, and the most compelling one, hands down, was the clip below from Hans Rosling. Dr. Rosling is a Swedish (appropriate given my previous North Park observation) doctor/statistician. Yeah, I know, he can’t just be brilliant about one thing, right? Anyway, he did this amazing presentation where he does a real-space animation of life expectancy and wealth over the course of 200 years. I don’t want to give anything else away, but if you like social sciences, charts, Swedish accents, or just being intrigued in general, you need to watch this… Fascinating, right?!

Leave a Reply

